In Review – Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

love rosie
What happens when two people who are meant to be together can’t seem to get it right?

Rosie and Alex are destined for each other, and everyone seems to know it but them. Best friends since childhood, they are separated as teenagers when Alex and his family relocate from Dublin to Boston.

Like two ships always passing in the night, Rosie and Alex stay friends, and though years pass, the two remain firmly attached via emails and letters. Heartbroken, they learn to live without each other. But destiny is a funny thing, and in this novel of several missed opportunities, Rosie and Alex learn that fate isn’t quite done with them yet.

http://uk.cecelia-ahern.com/love-rosie-where-rainbows-end/

–oOo–

a little bit swirlyI’m a big fan of Cecelia Ahern.  I really enjoy her storytelling techniques and her talent at fleshing out characters.  I was given this book as a gift after saying that I wanted to see the movie.  I prefer to read the books before I watch adaptations, so it was a great surprise for me.  I confess though that this book isn’t a new story, it was previously released as Where Rainbows End and it turns out I have it on my shelf waiting to be read… that’s what happens when you have a TBR pile larger than most people’s libraries 🙂  At any rate, I was still looking forward to reading it.

The story is written in the form of letters, emails, cards, texts, instant messages and postcards.  It’s a style that could’ve been a complete disaster, but somehow works – even though there are times when you’re at risk of getting confused. This particular style choice does mean that the author was able to dispense with many of the details of scenery and surrounds and also allowed her to have large chunks of time pass in only a few pages.

The style also allows us to really get an intimate feeling for each character in a way that I’m not sure would’ve been as sharp in a normal narrative.  For that, I thoroughly enjoyed it.  It definitely felt more like I was getting to snoop into the private lives of the characters and experience their trials and tribulations with them rather than merely reading about it as a spectator.  I will confess though that there were times when I skipped certain interactions (instant messages between two of the characters for example) as I was more interested in finding out what happened with other characters.

The story was beautifully told and a really fun read.  So very easy to relate to and I think making use of the various familiar forms of communication made the story feel current and relevant.  I am really looking forward to seeing if the movie works out as well.

A definite 4 hearts from me.

Until next time…

BM xx

3 thoughts on “In Review – Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

Leave a Reply

